AVS4You.comSupportRulesAbout Us
    ENG English    FRA Français    DEU Deutsch
Posts: 3
Registered: 30.08.2009
30.08.09 03:24:50
Update Manager downloads the list of updates but freezes when displaying list (50%)
I have Vista 64
Administrator
Posts: 1786
Registered: 22.01.2009
31.08.09 00:09:55
To: DerekR

Try reinstalling the software:

1. Go Start> All Programs> AVS4YOU> Uninstall.

2. Go Start> Run... Print regedit in the opened window and click OK.
In the opened Registry Editor window please find and delete all AVS4YOU folders:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > SOFTWARE > AVS4YOU (delete it).
HKEY_CURRENT_USER > SOFTWARE > AVS4YOU (delete it).

3. Go Local Disc (C:) > Program Files > AVS4YOU (delete it).
Go Local Disc (C:) > Program Files > Common Files > AVSMedia (delete it).
Go Local Disc (C:) > Documents and Settings > All Users > Application Data > AVS4YOU (delete it).

Now install the programs anew on your PC: http://www.avs4you.com/downloads.aspx

Please write back whether the problem is solved
Posts: 3
Registered: 30.08.2009
31.08.09 09:03:44
To: nadin


I have found the problem and it's not AVS4You
When AVS4YOU download manager froze I opened Task Manager and found
McGuard.exe using 75% of CPU when I stopped this AVS4YOU download manager completed it's task
McGuard is part of McAfee Security suite

Now i need to find out why it is blocking it
Posts: 3
Registered: 30.08.2009
31.08.09 09:31:09
To: nadin

OK Fixed it I removed AVSUpdateManager's permission in McAfee
and let it get permission again and all works OK
Thanks
Administrator
Posts: 1786
Registered: 22.01.2009
31.08.09 22:41:19
To: DerekR
That's great news! Thank you for the comments! :-)
Posts: 2
Registered: 02.12.2009
02.12.09 15:11:39
To: nadin
I am having the same problem with AVSInstallPack.exe. I have tried with a number of applications and always get to 99%, sometimes 100% but with the download window showing an estimated time left of 1 second it freezes. I do not have the same McAfee problem as above and I have tried uninstalling and deleting as instructed above but this hasn't helped. I originally downloaded Audio Converter and installed it successfully then registered. It is only since I registered and successfully updated audio converter with the licence key (and subsequently used it successfully) that I have had problems. I am running on Windows XP.
Posts: 2
Registered: 02.12.2009
03.12.09 03:04:08
To: Gonzoal
I don't know what I've done but managed to get things downloaded and installed successfully today!
Posts: 2396
Registered: 29.01.2012
03.12.09 06:26:48
To: Gonzoal


Thanks for the message. We are glad that the problem has been solved. *SUPER*
Online:
Users:  0  
Guests:  135