AVS4You.comSupportRulesAbout Us
    ENG English    FRA Français    DEU Deutsch
Posts: 1
Registered: 09.01.2009
09.01.09 00:58:45
I have just registered the AVS program and have encountered difficulty converting my MPEG4 file to avi. When i try to upload my orginal file via the browse tab it doesn't recognise the file format and says: "file format error". Please help!!!
Posts: 1
Registered: 09.01.2009
09.01.09 21:18:37
To: ingridh84


]-:)mine won't work either!!!

i wanted to convert my mpeg4 quicktime to dvd to watch on tv, it it kept on saying file does not exist!
Posts: 1
Registered: 06.01.2009
09.01.09 21:19:37
Hi
I just bought the AVS softaware last night. I was converting HD video (m2ts) to wmv and it worked fine. Today I am trying the same thing using the exact same video file and trying to convert it to wmv as well. Same thing. However an error message comes up stating "video format is unsupported". I'm confused because it worked last night. Can anyone help with this problem. Thanks
Dam
Administrator
Posts: 569
Registered: 16.05.2008
11.01.09 03:59:32
Hello,

To: ingridh84

To: chowiemok


Please upload the problem file to our FTP server. That will help us to reproduce the error. I will sent you the ftp details by mail.

To: Robert Jessome


Robert Jessome:
I was converting HD video (m2ts) to wmv and it worked fine. Today I am trying the same thing...

Please precise whether you also installed some other programs after AVS Video Converter 6

Hope to hear from you soon
Posts: 1
Registered: 16.01.2009
11.01.09 04:00:32
I convert Adobe Elements 4.0 project files (.prel) to .mov files. Sometimes it works, but today the error "file format error" appeared. What am I doing wrong? What can I do? Attached is the Adobe Elements 4.0 project file.
Attached files:
Dam
Administrator
Posts: 569
Registered: 16.05.2008
20.01.09 00:51:11
To: hoosieradvisor

Hi,

In fact .prel format is not supported by AVS software at all. So, that is strange that
hoosieradvisor:
Sometimes it works,

That is hardly probable.

I just can suggest that you used MOV format, the resulting file after Adobe Elements 4.0 project? But that is just my guess.

Best Regards
Posts: 1
Registered: 02.03.2009
02.03.09 06:49:23
i got asf files and i cant convert it. everytime i click browse to add files to convert then i click on my asf files, a message "file format error" appears. help!!!
Administrator
Posts: 1786
Registered: 22.01.2009
02.03.09 23:57:47
To: grand

Basically, an ASF file can be either actual video or container file. The latter specifies the structure of video stream, but does not contain any video data. Conversion can be performed only in case ASF files are actual video files. However, if they are not you will get file format error when trying to add them to the program.

You can check up the file type simply by viewing its size (in case it is small, most likely, it is container file).
Also specifying the origin of these files might be useful.

Best regards
Administrator
Posts: 1786
Registered: 22.01.2009
07.04.09 21:54:45
To: piercedotnet

Your post has been moved. Please follow the link.
Posts: 1
Registered: 19.04.2009
19.04.09 06:48:43
I am no longer able to convert my .m2ts files - "Video format is unsupported". This function used to work correctly.
Administrator
Posts: 1786
Registered: 22.01.2009
19.04.09 23:57:41
To: BobbyD

We`d recommend updating AVS files following Start > Programs > AVS4YOU > AVS Update Manager. In case this does not help, please upload one of your files to our FTP server for testing. The instruction will be sent to you shortly.

To: nomi_000

Your post has been moved. Please follow this link.

Best regards
Posts: 3
Registered: 23.04.2009
19.04.09 23:58:41
Unable to import M2TS file in AVS Video Editor 4 (version 4.1.1.111) or Video Converter 6 (version 6.2.5.334). Both error with the message "Not a supported format." I have since tried one of the proposed solutions of updating the DLL and then repairing. No change. PLEASE HELP as all of my HD content is in M2TS from my Sony HD cam.

Thanks,
Gary
Administrator
Posts: 1786
Registered: 22.01.2009
23.04.09 22:57:58
To: spidersweb

We`d be glad to receive a small part of your file for testing. I will contact you per e-mail shortly.

Regards
Posts: 3
Registered: 23.04.2009
24.04.09 06:06:33
To: nadin

That would be great, thank you. I would happy to send you a file. I have also tried importing M2TS from a great site that offers HD movie and studio trailers in M2TS format:
http://www.demo-world.eu/trailers/high-definition-trailers.php

One example is the second one (20th Century Fox Blu Ray). I can open it and import it into Adobe Premiere, but I get an error when I trying to in AVS Video Editor or Converter.

Thanks for the help.
Gary
Posts: 3
Registered: 23.04.2009
24.04.09 09:26:40
Hi Nadin, the files are now on the FTP site. Please take a look and see if you can help.
Thanks.
Experienced User
Posts: 26
Registered: 16.05.2009
16.05.09 08:27:17
Hi

Can you guys verify that it happens mostly on 4GB+ files and at random?
sometimes it would work sometimes it doesn't.

I'm using vista 64Bit
the fact that it happens with 4GB+ files means that it's a bug (32 bit programs are 'limited' to 4gb)
but the fact that it sometime works puzzels me

Br
Administrator
Posts: 1786
Registered: 22.01.2009
18.05.09 04:17:23
To: spidersweb

The problem regarding conversion of M2TS files you have sent has been corrected.

You need to save the files attached to the following folder: C:\Program Files\Common Files\AVSMedia\ActiveX
If you are asked whether you would like to overwrite the existing .dlls, click on Yes.

Then run the Repair utility in order to register the .dlls:
1. Close AVS Video Converter and all other running programs and applications.
2. Next follow Start > All Programs > AVS4YOU > Repair.

Please inform us on the result.

(The .dll has been deleted, as it has been included into the latest update. Update AVS files following Start > Programs > AVS4YOU > AVS Update Manager)
Administrator
Posts: 1786
Registered: 22.01.2009
18.05.09 04:32:19
To: shachar2

Using our software you can convert files more than 4 Gb in size. Do you get file format error when opening such files in AVS Video Converter? Please specify format and origin of the files you fail to convert. Try to playback them in a player prior to conversion in order to make sure they are correct.

Also make sure you are using the latest version of AVS Video Converter. Follow Start > Programs > AVS4YOU > AVS Update Manager in order to update AVS files.

Hope to hear from you soon
Experienced User
Posts: 26
Registered: 16.05.2009
18.05.09 07:26:42
To: nadin


Hi Nadin

The files play correctly
The files are mostly .mkv container format files, mostly with x264 codec and ac3 audio
I think the problem might not be directly related to your software because when your software decides not to work some other software decides not to work and gives the same error message

BUT the software doesn't have ANY problem with small files.
I was thinking that it might be some wow64 to 32 bit emulator (vista 64Bit emulates for 32Bit programs)
but it happens on random and sometimes it works.

I'm using Haali Media Splitter and Divx7 (which also supports the mkv container), not ffdshow or other combied codec package.
I'm guessing that the program checks the files for compatibility with some codec/splitter and I'm not sure what goes on in the background.
the files are fine (I have lots of them and when the problem occures it occures for all of them except small files).

I'm not so sure I guess it's some 64Bit bug somewhere because 64Bit is new and developpers aren't used to it yet (most programs downloaded from the net are 32Bit like yours)

any ideas on how to debug it?

Br
Shachar2
Experienced User
Posts: 26
Registered: 16.05.2009
19.05.09 05:45:35
To: nadin


Hi Nadin

This is somehow related
Trying to convert 6GB files causes some bug similer to a memory leak, it's more of a cpu leak.
Converting starts fine then starts to slow down and stop, when you pause the conversaion
And look in task manager the program still uses cpu and a bit of memory (it goes a bit up &
down). If you wait some time (didn't masure it exactly) the program will eventually go down
to %0 cpu and when you resume the conversaion process it would work as normally but
repeat the above (slow down, stop, when paused %99 cpu uses)

I suspect this is related to your software
I would hate to think what would happen with full 1080p HD files, lucky I don't have any

Br
Shachar2
Online:
Users:  0  
Guests:  311