AVS4You.comSupportRulesAbout Us
    ENG English    FRA Français    DEU Deutsch
Posts: 10
Registered: 23.05.2008
26.05.08 00:03:52
Hi all.
:-)

Q1: Whenever I go to convert any video, and I select the destination as F: drive(root), the program always says that the directory is not empty when it is. There are other folders in F:, but the root of F: is always where I save the converted video, and it is empty before I start, so why is VC6 trying to tell me this?

Q2: When you edit a profile, under video, there is a BITRATE box, which by default is 1000. However, there is also a button beside the codec for you to configure it via the codec's own GUI, and I always use DivX codec, and always set it to 1600kbps and 1-pass, so what(if anything) do I need to do with the bitrate box? Do I just ignore it, or should it be set to 1600 as well?

Thanks.
Posts: 10
Registered: 23.05.2008
26.05.08 01:05:20
ADDITIONAL:

Interestingly, VC6 does not seem to be passing the video through the DivX codec, even when it is specifically selected and configured via the profiles window and ADVANCED button.

A 17 minute video supposedly encoded to DivX ends up playable just fine, but as no more then a bog-standard Microsoft AVI, _NOT_ a DivX, even though that was what was selected. The filesize is 229MB for 17 minutes - further proof that DivX compression HAS NOT been applied, or the filesize for 17 minutes at 1600kbps bitrate should be in the area of 60-70MB.

Anyone know what is going on?

I might uninstall VC6 and go back to VC5 until this can be fixed.
Posts: 10
Registered: 23.05.2008
26.05.08 04:31:33
I have downgraded to VC5, and the problem has vanished.
I think there is something not quite right with the code for VC6 in the way that it handles DivX encoding.

Anyhoo, VC5 is working fine for me, and the files are the right size now, so...

An episode of The X-Files I converted with VC6 was 2.6GB, whereas the exact same VOB converted with VC5 is 567MB.
[:-}
Dam
Administrator
Posts: 569
Registered: 16.05.2008
27.05.08 03:20:14
To: Grogster


Hello,

1. The message about the directory being not empty will be removed from AVS Video Converter 6.

2. When you use DivX codec, our software (AVS Video Converter 5/6) ignores the bitrate presets and takes the codec presets i.e. 1600kbps, so you can leave the bitrate value in the profile window as it is.

3. The filesize for 17 minutes with 1600kbps bitrate makes 220 MB, that fact confirms, that DivX codec was used for the compression. If you have 17 minutes file for 60-70 MB, it seems, that it has the bitrate equal to 320-400kbps. So, as result you have an episode of The X-Files I converted with VC6 equal to 2.6GB, whereas the exact same VOB converted with VC5 equal to 567MB.

Best Regards
Posts: 10
Registered: 23.05.2008
27.05.08 03:34:19
Dam:
To: Grogster


Hello,

1. The message about the directory being not empty will be removed from AVS Video Converter 6.

2. When you use DivX codec, our software (AVS Video Converter 5/6) ignores the bitrate presets and takes the codec presets i.e. 1600kbps, so you can leave the bitrate value in the profile window as it is.


Re 1 - OK.

Re 2 - OK.

:
="Dam"]3. The filesize for 17 minutes with 1600kbps bitrate makes 220 MB, that fact confirms, that DivX codec was used for the compression. If you have 17 minutes file for 60-70 MB, it seems, that it has the bitrate equal to 320-400kbps. So, as result you have an episode of The X-Files I converted with VC6 equal to 2.6GB, whereas the exact same VOB converted with VC5 equal to 567MB.


With VC5, and in the profiles, I select the DivX codec, and set 1600kbps, and the filesize of a TV-type episode like this is ALWAYS in the area of 550MB-600MB max, yet in VC6 with the same DivX codec settings, it ends up being 2.6GB?!??!!

That does not compute.

I have been happily ripping all my DVD's(and I have a large collection - hundreds of discs) into DivX over the past year or so, and they are ALL ripped at 1600kbps DivX to keep a reasonable picture quality.

I don't know what is going on, but for now, VC5 is working fine for me, so I don't care really!
*CRAZY*
Dam
Administrator
Posts: 569
Registered: 16.05.2008
27.05.08 03:52:54
To: Grogster


We are glad that the problem is solved, but that is important for us.

So, please specify the length of an episode of The X-Files you convert (in minutes).
Online:
Users:  0  
Guests:  152